International networks

You would like to accelerate your R&D investments to develop new bio-based products? Then join the European bio-based industries network!

Since 2014, in collaboration with ValBiom, the GreenWin cluster has become an effective member of the Bio-based Industries Consortium (BIC), bringing together the European biosourced industry. With approximately 200 members, BIC represents the private half of the public-private partnership established with the European Commission - the BioBased Industries Joint-Undertaking (BBI-JU).

€3.7 billion has been made available to European companies, universities, research centers, and clusters to develop new bio-based technologies, processes, and products. Every year, the BBI-JU launches a call for “BBI” projects as part of the European program of research and innovation - Horizon 2020.

As an SME member of the GreenWin cluster, you can benefit from membership in the BIC network! As a BIC member, you can:

  • Contribute to defining the future BBI calls for projects
  • Receive appropriate support in identifying partners or appropriate funding for your project ideas
  • Receive project setup support in partnership with the NCP
  • Benefit from visibility within the network
  • Establish a technology watch on European innovations in this sector.

In Wallonia, several entities have already been mobilized: De Smet E&C, Solvay, Total, BASF, the Südzucker Group, Materia Nova, Xylowatt, GreenWatt, Pollet, Realco, Artechno, Xylowatt, Pollet, Lambiotte, Syngulon, and Biorem Engineering, etc.

To request information or express interest, please contact gilles.colson@greenwin.be


The ECRN is a network of 20 European regions in which the chemical sector plays a decisive role.

Through the Projects Board, set up in 2014, the ECRN helps stimulate the process of creating value between regions, accelerating technology transfer and co-operation between companies, research institutions, and participating regions. Specifically, this includes creating a “workflow” to increase members’ ability to respond to European tenders, by allowing Board members to continually contribute project ideas or respond to financing calls. It also aims to help SMEs increase their level of internationalization or create links between members and potential investors outside of Europe by organizing various events.


SusChem is the European technology platform for sustainable chemistry. Established in 2004, GreenWin joined the network in 2016. It is a joint initiative between Cefic, DECHEMA, EuropaBio, GDCh, ESAB, and RSC with the principal goal of revitalizing and inspiring European chemistry and increasing research into industrial biotechnology, development, and innovation.


The Vanguard Initiative network consists of 26 European regions whose aim is to promote interregional and inter-cluster collaboration prioritarily in industrial policy areas, based on a smart specialization approach at the European level.

Wallonia (via dgo6) joined the network by supporting two Vanguard initiatives: Vanguard Initiative – S3 partnership Additive Manufacturing and Vanguard – Bioeconomy with the goal of developing new industrial value chains based on the use of non-food biomass, with a particular focus on the demonstration/pilot lines phases, while ensuring complementarity within the existing initiatives at the European level. In this context, several pilot cases are being developed: “Biobased aromatics”; “Lignocellulose refinery: European value chains food second-generation sugar and lignin”; “Turning (waste)gas into value”; “Biogas beyond Energy”; “Aviation Fuel”; “High Value Food and Feed from agro-food waste”; and “Food and feed ingredients from algae”.

To request information or express interest, please contact gilles.colson@greenwin.be


In 2016, Wallonia was selected as one of the 6 demonstration model regions in the field of sustainable chemical production via a tender launched by the European Commission (DG GROW). Other regions involved are Scotland, Andalusia, Groningen and Drenthe (Netherlands), Košice (Slovakia) and Tipperary (Ireland). In this context, GreenWin contributes to the work of the Walloon consortium.

This selection is intended to allow the region to develop an ambitious strategy for sustainable chemical production and a bio-based economy, mobilizing all stakeholders, including industry, from a value chain perspective. The result should be the establishment of a regional financing plan identifying the specific investments to be developed, following a systemic approach.

In addition, to represent its members, the cluster is in contact with other influential European networks that may represent entry points for setting up European projects. These include:


KIC InnoEnergy is a public-private partnership initiated by the European Institute for Technology Innovation (EIT). It aims to encourage the development of innovation in Europe in the specific field of sustainable energy, and it is based on three principal missions: setting up and managing multi-partner innovation projects, entrepreneurship, and the organization of pan-European education programs (masters, and doctorate).


KIC Raw Material aims to ensure the accessibility, availability, and sustainable use of raw materials for the economy and for populations. Closer ties with KIC represents a new opportunity for members of the cluster to participate in innovative projects financed by KIC at the European level.


Last May, GREATER GREEN, the recently created environmental technology meta-cluster, invited cluster managers, environmental technology specialists and representatives of the Greater Region to the “Umwelt-Campus” site in Birkenfeld. Participants from Rhineland-Palatinate, Wallonia, Luxembourg, the Greater East Region, and Saar took advantage of the opportunity to exchange information and make new contacts. In addition, environmental technology experts from the border regions learned about the research projects developed on the campus related to biomass repurposing and zero-emission building techniques.

« Improving the visibility of environmental technologies is an important goal of GREATER GREEN », states Tamara Breitbach, manager of the meta-cluster. The aim is to increase the export rate and strengthen the innovative capacity of SMEs. Environmental technologies are a growing sector that encompass a wide range of areas, such as water and effluent management, renewable energies, sustainable construction, optimization of recycling processes, and implementation of circular principles in waste management. Digitization also plays an important role, as explained by Prof. Dr. Stefan Naumann, Scientific Project Manager, in facilitating process optimization and rapid information exchange.

Mrs. Breitbach also explained that there is as yet no experience with cross-border business networks, let alone with a network that itself connects the existing networks. “Developing processes, organizing sustainable networking and overcoming linguistic barriers – all these aspects make GREATER GREEN exciting and innovative, and require creative thinking.” The first Greater Green Meeting, which brought together approximately 25 participants, laid the foundations for our future collaboration.

The President of the University of Applied Sciences, Norbert Kuhn, emphasizes that the project is of great importance for the “Umwelt-Campus”: “Through the construction of the network, we hope to bring about new co-operation in the Greater Region. This contributes to our attractiveness for students who are increasingly looking for experience abroad. Our research activities will also benefit from international exchanges”.

The partners of the Greater Green project are: the Environment Ministry of Rhineland-Palatinate (Germany); State Chancellery of Saarland (Germany); Ecoliance e.V. (Germany); Hydreos (France); Pôle Fibres Energie Vie (France); Institut Carnot Energie Environnement en Lorraine (ICEEL, France); Cluster Plastiwin (Belgium); GreenWin cluster (Belgium); Cluster CAP 2020 (Belgium); Cluster Eco Construction (Belgium); INFOPÔLE Cluster TIC (Belgium); Cluster TWEED (Belgium); Cluster Val+ (Belgium); Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) (Lu); Neobuild (Lu).


For more information on any of our initiatives, please contact us.

Contact

M. Gilles Colson
International Affairs Manager

gilles.colson@greenwin.be

+32 485 31 77 17

Les réseaux internationaux

Vous souhaitez accélérer vos investissements en R&D pour développer de nouveaux produits biobasés ? Rejoignez le réseau européen des industries biobasées !

Depuis 2014, le pôle GreenWin, en collaboration avec ValBiom, est devenu membre effectif du consortium BIC (Bio-based Industries Consortium) rassemblant l’industrie européenne biosourcée. BIC (environ 200 membres) représente le secteur privé du partenariat public-privé établi avec la Commission européenne « BBI-JU » (BioBased Industries Joint-Undertaking).

3,7 milliards € sont mis à disposition des entreprises, universités, centres de recherche et clusters européens afin de développer de nouvelles technologies, procédés et produits biobasés. Le BBI-JU lance chaque année un appel à projet « BBI » faisant partie du programme européen de recherche et d'innovation, Horizon 2020.

En tant que PME membre du pôle GreenWin, vous pouvez bénéficier d’une adhésion au sein du réseau BIC ! En tant que membre BIC, vous pouvez notamment :

  • Contribuer à la définition des futurs appels à projet BBI
  • Recevoir un support adapté pour identifier des partenaires ou un financement approprié pour vos idées de projet
  • Recevoir un support au montage de projet (en partenariat avec le NCP) ;
  • Bénéficier d’une visibilité au sein du réseau
  • Etablir une veille technologique sur les innovations européennes dans ce secteur.

En Wallonie, plusieurs entités se sont déjà mobilisées : De Smet E&C, Solvay, Total, BASF, le groupe Südzucker, Materia Nova, Xylowatt, GreenWatt, Pollet, Realco, Artechno, Xylowatt, Pollet, Lambiotte, Syngulon, Biorem Engineering… !

Pour toute information ou marque d’intérêt : veuillez contacter gilles.colson@greenwin.be


L’ECRN est un réseau de 20 régions européennes dans lesquelles le secteur chimique tient une place déterminante.

Via le Conseil de projets mis en place en 2014, l’ECRN contribue à stimuler le processus de création de valeur entre les Régions, accélérer le transfert technologique, la coopération entre les entreprises, les institutions de recherche et les régions participantes. Concrètement, il s’agit notamment d’instaurer un « flux de travail » pour augmenter la capacité des membres à répondre aux appels européens, en permettant aux membres du Conseil de continuellement apporter des idées de projets ou de répondre aux appels de financement. Il s’agit également d’aider les PME à accroître leur degré d’internationalisation ou encore de créer des liens entre les membres et de potentiels investisseurs hors Europe à travers l’organisation d’événements divers.


SusChem est la plateforme technologique européenne pour la chimie durable. Elle a été créée en 2004, GreenWin a rejoint le réseau en 2016. Il s’agit d’une initiative conjointe entre le Cefic, DECHEMA, EuropaBio, GDCh, ESAB et RSC avec l'objectif principal de redynamiser et d'inspirer de manière durable la chimie européenne et la recherche en biotechnologie industrielle, le développement et l'innovation.


Le réseau « Vanguard Initiative » est composé de 26 régions européennes dont l’objectif est de promouvoir la collaboration interrégionale et inter-clusters dans les domaines prioritaires de politique industrielle, sur base d’une approche de spécialisation intelligente au niveau européen.

La Wallonie (via la dgo6) a rejoint le réseau en soutenant deux initiatives Vanguard : « Vanguard Initiative – S3 partnership Additive Manufacturing » et « Vanguard – Bioeconomy » avec comme objectif le développement de nouvelles chaînes de valeur industrielles (basée sur l’usage de la biomasse non-alimentaire), avec un focus particulier sur les phases de démonstration/lignes pilotes, le tout en assurant la complémentarité avec les initiatives existantes au niveau européen. Dans ce cadre, plusieurs « pilot cases » sont en cours de développement : « Biobased aromatics » ; « Lignocellulose refinery : European value chains fod second-generation sugar and lignin » ; « Turning (waste)gas into value ; « Biogas beyond Energy » ; « Aviation Fuel » ; « High Value Food and Feed from agro-food waste”; “frood and feed ingredients from algae”.

Pour toute information ou marque d’intérêt : veuillez contacter gilles.colson@greenwin.be


En 2016, la Wallonie a été sélectionnée comme une des « 6 régions modèles démonstratrices » dans le domaine de la production chimique durable via un appel lancé par la Commission européenne (DG GROW). Les autres régions impliquées sont l’Ecosse, l’Andalousie, les provinces de Groningen et Drenthe (Pays-Bas), la région Košice (Slovaquie) et le comté de Tipperary (Irlande). Dans ce cadre, GreenWin contribue aux travaux du consortium wallon.

Cette sélection devrait permettra à la Région de développer une stratégie ambitieuse en matière de production chimique durable et d’économie biobasée, en mobilisant l’ensemble des parties prenantes (en ce compris l’industrie) dans une perspective de chaînes de valeur. Le résultat devra être la mise en place d’un Plan régional de financement identifiant l’investissement concret à développer, suivant une approche systémique.

De plus, en vue de représenter ses membres, le pôle est en contact avec d’autres réseaux d’influence européens susceptibles de représenter des portes d’entrée au montage de projets européens. Parmi ceux-ci, notons :


Le KIC InnoEnergy est un partenariat public-privé initié par l'Institut Européen pour l'Innovation Technologique (EIT). Il a pour but d'encourager le développement de l'innovation en Europe dans le domaine spécifique de l'énergie durable et il s'appuie sur 3 missions principales : mise en place et management de projets d'innovation multipartenaires, support à l'entrepreneuriat et organisation de programmes d'éducation pan-européens (Master, Doctorat).


Le KIC Raw Material a pour but d’assurer l’accessibilité, la disponibilité et l’usage durable des matières premières pour l’économie et les citoyens. Un rapprochement vers les KIC représente une nouvelle opportunité pour les membres du pôle de participer à des projets innovants à l’échelle européenne, financés par le KIC.


GREATER GREEN, le méta-cluster des technologies environnementales récemment créé, a invité les managers de clusters, spécialistes des technologies environnementales et représentants de la Grande Région sur le site de „l‘Umwelt-Campus“ à Birkenfeld en mai dernier. Les participants issus de Rhénanie-Palatinat, de la Wallonie, du Luxembourg, de la Région Grand Est et de la Sarre ont profité de l’occasion pour s’échanger et nouer de nouveaux contacts. Par ailleurs, les experts des technologies environnementales des régions frontalières ont pris connaissance de certains projets de recherche développés sur le Campus en matière de valorisation de la biomasse et de techniques de bâtiments zéro émission.

« Améliorer la visibilité des technologies environnementales est un objectif important de GREATER GREEN », indique Tamara Breitbach, gérante du méta-cluster. Il s’agit d’augmenter le taux d’exportation et de renforcer la capacité d’innovation des PME. Les technologies environnementales consituent un secteur en croissance qui englobe des domaines variés tels que la gestion de l’eau et des effluents, les énergies renouvelables, la construction durable ou encore l’optimisaton des processus de recyclage et la mise en oeuvre des principes circulaires dans la gestion des déchets. La numérisation y joue également un rôle important, comme l’a rappelé le Prof. Dr. Stefan Naumann, chef de projet scientifique, en permettant l’optimisation des processus et l’échange rapide d’informations.

Mme Breitbach explique également qu’il n’existe actuellement pas encore d’expérience avec des réseaux d’entreprises transfrontaliers, et encore moins avec un réseau qui met lui-même en contact des réseaux existants. « Développer des processus, organiser de façon durable la mise en réseau et surmonter les barrières linguistiques – tout ces aspects rendent GREATER GREEN passionnant et innovant et requièrent une pensée créative. » Avec le premier Greater Green Meeting, qui rassembla environ 25 participants, les bases ont été posées permettant d’envisager la collaboration à venir.

Le président de la Haute Ecole Norbert Kuhn souligne en outre que le projet relève d’une grande importance pour « l’Umwelt-Campus » : « Nous espérons, via la construction du réseau, faire émerger de nouvelles coopérations en Grande Région. Ceci contribue à notre attractivité pour les étudiants qui, de plus en plus souvent, sont à la recherche d’expériences à l’étranger. Nos activités de recherche profiteront également des échanges internationaux ».

Les partenaires du projet Greater Green sont : Umweltministerium Rheinland- Pfalz (All.) ; Staatskanzlei des Saarlandes (All.); Ecoliance e.V. (All.); Hydreos (Fr.) ; Pôle Fibres Energie Vie (Fr.) ; Institut Carnot Energie Environnement en Lorraine (ICEEL, Fr.); Cluster Plastiwin (Be.) ; Pôle GreenWin (Be.) ; Cluster CAP 2020 (Be.) ; Cluster Eco Construction (Be.) ; INFOPÔLE Cluster TIC (Be.) ; Cluster TWEED (Be.) ; Cluster Val+ (Be.) ; Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) (Lu) ; Neobuild (Lu).


Pour plus d’informations sur l’une de nos actions, n’hésitez pas à contacter

Point de contact

M. Gilles Colson
International Affairs Manager

gilles.colson@greenwin.be

+32 485 31 77 17